Portabella Pizza

I was fooling around on stumble upon this morning when I came across this recipe by Zesty for portabella pizza. The pictures look so yummy and what a unique twist on pizza.  I  just couldn’t help myself, I had to add this recipe.

Portabella Pizza

by ZESTY on DECEMBER 1, 2008

Happy Monday!  I was relaxing on Saturday coming up with new and exciting recipes to create and share with everyone  – that is something I love to do!  I think I have come up with a few really gems that I fell may be of interest.  This one I am about to share with you is a new spin on pizza that cuts down on the carbohydrates but still fills you up.

When it comes to pizza there really are no rules.  You just make the pizza the way you like it.  Different from traditional pizza – this recipe using portabella mushrooms as the basis for the sauce and toppings as opposed to a crust.  Talk about simple – ready in less than 15 minutes, these are great as an appetizer or make enough of them and have a meal.

Ingredients

  • Portabella Mushrooms
  • Pizza Sauce
  • Cooked Bacon ( Small Pieces)
  • Jalapeno Peppers
  • Pineapple Pieces
  • Fresh Basil
  • Tomatoes
  • Shredded Mozzarella and Cheddar Cheese

Method

    1. Preheat oven to 350 Degrees
    2. Remove the stem and clean the mushrooms
    3. Spoon sauce on inside base of the mushroom

    1. Add chopped fresh basil, cooked bacon, pineapple, jalapeno peppers

    1. Top with cheese

    1. Bake until cheese is golden brown ( about 10-12 minutes )

  1. ENJOY!

So what did you think?  Pretty easy and actually for my first time making these – they were very tasty.  Let me know what toppings you would like on your portabella pizza.

Zesty Tip: When preparing mushrooms, wipe them with a damp cloth and pat dry with a paper-towel.  Do not scrub or peel the mushrooms or soak them in water.  This will take away flavor, texture and valuable nutrients.  Sprinkle the mushrooms with lemon juice to help retain color.

Have a great Monday and I look forward to hearing from you.

Take care

zesty

I hope you enjoy this Italian recipe for portabella pizza. I know I can’t wait to try this one myself.

Con tanto amore


Maria

2 thoughts on “Portabella Pizza

Leave a Reply

