Italian Goulash-Gulasch Italiano

37 - Italienischer Gulasch / Goulash italian s...

Today has really been one of the first cold days we have really had this winter.  It’s only going up into the 40’s today.  Considering that it is winter, that’s not too bad.  I guess I have been getting a little spoiled with the warm, spring-like weather we have had so far this winter. I don’t want you to think that I am complaining, I guess more stating a fact.  I’m not a cold weather girl, in fact I really, really don’t like winter, so I have been quite happy with the mild temps. It is just that I had all kinds of hearty, cold weather dishes in mind that I was going to share, but my mind keeps wandering to spring and yes, summer menu ideas.  So, since the weather is a little chilly today, I thought that I would share this recipe for Italian Goulash.  There are a lot of different recipes for this dish but the one constant is paprika.  I think the best way to serve Italian Goulash is over polenta, so I have also included a basic recipe for polenta.

Italian Goulash
Gulasch Italiano

Ingredients

1-tablespoon olive oil
3 medium onions chopped
2 1/2 pounds stewing beef cut into 1-inch cubes
3 tablespoons paprika
1 can (28 oz.) tomato puree
2 teaspoons cumin
1-tablespoon oregano
1 teaspoon lemon zest
2 bay leaves
2 cloves garlic chopped
salt and pepper to taste

Heat a large saucepan over medium heat.
When the pan is hot add the oil and onions.
Cook the onions for about 3 to 5 minutes, until they are soft.
Add the meat, tomato puree, paprika, cumin, oregano, lemon zest, bay leaves, garlic and salt and pepper.


Cover and cook over low heat for 3 to 4 hours, stirring occasionally.
Serve hot with polenta. Serves 6 to 8.

Basic Polenta

Ingredients

1 1/3 cups yellow cornmeal
6 cups cold water
1-teaspoon salt

In a large saucepan add the cornmeal, water and salt.
Over medium-high heat bring the mixture to a boil stirring constantly.


Continue cooking for 5 minutes until the mixture thickens.
Reduce the heat to low and partially cover the pan.
Simmer for 45 minutes to an hour, until the mixture is thick and creamy, stirring occasionally.
Remove from the heat, cover and let stand for 10 to 15 minutes.
Serve hot with Italian Goulash.

I hope you enjoy this recipe for Italian Goulash-Gulasch Italiano.

Con Tanto Amore

Maria

4 thoughts on “Italian Goulash-Gulasch Italiano

Leave a Reply

