Cotolette di Vitello Affogate “Drowned” Veal Chops

I’ve been on a little kick lately making dishes that use wine. I really don’t know why, maybe it is the crazy weather we have been having.

Cotolette di Vitello Affogate which means “Drowned Veal Chops, because you literally smother the veal in gravy, you know-drown them.

This is a classic dish of Milan, the capital of Lombardy, a northern region in Italy. One of the mainstays of the Lombardy region is their cattle production.

The Lombardy region differs from most regions in Italy, well because they use a lot of butter in their cooking and not a lot of olive oil and this recipe is no exception.

Traditionally Cotolette di Vitello Affogate is made with pancetta (Italian bacon), but if you can’t find Pancetta you can substitute bacon instead.

Cotolette di Vitello Affogate
Maria’s “Drowned” Veal Chops

Ingredients

2 tablespoons (1/4 stick) unsalted butter
1/4-pound slice of pancetta, defatted and cut into 1/4-inch cubes
4 bone-in veal chops (1/2 pound each)
1/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1-teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
4 sage leaves
4 thyme sprigs
4 rosemary sprigs
1 cup dry white wine
1-cup chicken broth

Melt 1 tablespoon of the butter in medium sauté pan over medium heat.
Add the pancetta and cook about 5 minutes; stirring often and then remove to a plate.
Dredge the veal in flour and shake off the excess flour
Place the veal in a single layer in the pan and cook until lightly brown on each side for about 5 minutes each side.
Season the veal both sides with the salt and pepper, add the sage, thyme, and rosemary then cook for about a minute.
Transfer the veal to a platter to keep warm.
Add the wine to the pan stirring and scraping the bottom of pan and cook for about 5 minutes over medium heat.
Return the veal and the pancetta to the pan, cover and cook for about 20 minutes.
Transfer the veal to a platter to keep warm.
Reduce the cooking juices until they form a thick glaze over medium heat, about 2 minutes.
Whisk in the remaining tablespoon of butter into the sauce and cook 1 more minute, or until the sauce is shiny and reduced.
Serve the veal hot, “drowning” in its sauce with roasted potatoes.

I hope you enjoy my journey of Italian Cuisine and the Italian recipes that I have collected and saved throughout the years. I am always looking for new, exciting or different Italian recipes, tips and helpful hints. If you have any family Italian recipes that you would like to share with me, I would be happy to share them with the rest of the world.

Con tanto amore – With Lots of Love

Maria

7 thoughts on “Cotolette di Vitello Affogate “Drowned” Veal Chops

  1. …oh my.

    I read quite a few food blogs and I have in turn read quite a few recipes. But this one here…seriously, I’m almost drooling right now. I have learned to separate the mediocre recipes from the meaningful ones. This one is quite meaningful.

    One of my fave issues with Northern Italy is their ability to make flawless vitello dishes. This is just another one of them for me to try. I have a ‘veal patty’ recipe from Piemonte I am considering on sharing on my blog. It’s amazing. But I like it so much I almost look at it as one of my secret recipes that will go with me to the grave. Like I don’t really want to share it. Hmm. I think I need to eat some veal now.

    • Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. My hope is to share the fact that there is a lot more to Italian Cuisine than what non-Italians think of, when they think about Italian food. I think that you should share your “veal patty” recipe with the rest of the world. Thanks for taking the time to read my posts and for your comments.
      Hanno un grande giorno!
      Maria

  2. This recipe looks very easy and simple. I like the fact that it doesn’t have a lot of ingredients and doesn’t take a lot of time.

  3. I’ve been cooking with wine a lot recently too – I think it’s the cold weather that gets to you, I don’t know if you are actually in Italy at the moment, but if you aren’t, well it’s been crazy cold here. It’s been snowing heavily as far South as Sicily – unbelievable! It’s also a good excuse to have a glass with dinner, after all, the bottle is open… teehee

    • Ciao!
      No I’m not in Italy. I live in the US. It has been pretty cold here too. Yes, cold weather is a good excuse to have a glass of wine. That is, if you need an excuse. I do believe the cold weather is the reason I am cooking most of my dishes lately with wine. I like your blog. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

